When Does Star Wars Jedi Fallen Order Take Place Is It Canon



Star Wars has been delighting fans for fifty years, offering a galaxy far, far away filled with adventures. Not only through films and TV series but also in the realm of video games. One such game, Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order, released in 2019, received praise for its unique blend of gaming genres. However, the burning question for many fans remains: Where does this game fit into the vast Star Wars timeline? In this article, we’ll unravel the mysteries surrounding the game and explore its canonical status.


When Does Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order Unfold?

Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order is firmly rooted in the Star Wars canon. The game’s story unfolds five years after the events of Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith. This places it in a pivotal period of Star Wars history, commencing just as the Galactic Republic transitions into the formidable Galactic Empire and the sinister Great Jedi Purge begins.


Is Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order Canon?

This question has puzzled many fans, primarily due to the game’s original storyline. Initially, Fallen Order wasn’t designed as a Star Wars game, but both EA and in-game events have confirmed its canonical status. Players get to relive the harrowing Order 66 purge in one segment, and the presence of the Inquisitors, prominent characters from the Empire, further solidifies its place in the Star Wars canon. While some aspects of gameplay might not align perfectly, the cutscenes are unequivocally part of the official Star Wars lore.


Exploring the Plot of Fallen Order

Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order presents a unique narrative centered around Cal Kestis, who the Empire had believed to be deceased for several years. However, when an Imperial probe detects Cal’s Force abilities, two formidable Inquisitors, the Second Sister and the Ninth Sister, both trained under the watchful eye of Darth Vader, are dispatched to capture him. Cal now faces the daunting task of eluding the relentless pursuit of these Inquisitors while striving to complete his training and rebuild the fallen Jedi Order.


Jedi Survivor: Before or After Fallen Order?

For those curious about the chronological order, Star Wars Jedi: Survivor takes place five years after the events of Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order. Specifically, it unfolds in the year 9 BBY (Before the Battle of Yavin), which coincides with the timeline of the upcoming Obi-Wan Kenobi series. In contrast, Fallen Order is set in 14 BBY. This means that Survivor’s story occurs roughly a decade after the tragic events of Order 66 as depicted in the game.


The Canon Status of Cal Kestis

Cal Kestis, the central character of Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order, made his debut in this gripping video game. He is a former Jedi Padawan who miraculously survived the devastating Great Jedi Purge, only to be relentlessly hunted by Inquisitors. Given Fallen Order’s canonical status, Cal Kestis is an official part of the Star Wars universe. Fans have held out hope to see him make appearances in live-action or animated Star Wars media, though as of now, such appearances have yet to materialize.



With these insights, you’re now equipped to dive into the world of Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order. Its captivating gameplay and storyline are bound to transport you to a galaxy filled with excitement and peril. As you explore Cal Kestis’s journey and the challenges he faces, you’ll become more immersed in the rich tapestry of the Star Wars universe. So, consider this your invitation to embark on this epic adventure, and who knows, we might just see Cal Kestis grace our screens in the future. May the Force be with you!